Good Enough??

It’s funny. I grew up thinking that I had to be perfect, that I just had to be everything everyone expected of me. My teachers wanted me to be smart…..I tried to be smart. My family wanted a strong back to help out, I tried to be that too. My mom wanted me to win beauty contests, so, as a young girl, I flaunted on stage to try to win. The thing is, I usually just didn’t. I wasn’t the girl that everyone wanted me to be. I wasn’t the most intelligent in the class. I wasn’t the most beautiful girl on the stage. I wasn’t physically the strongest. I’ve never been the best. But I have always been expected to be. With the family I grew up with, to be less than the absolute best just wasn’t an option. I spent my childhood thinking that I just wasn’t enough. That no matter what, I was always going to be less than. I’ve always told people that it doesn’t matter what others think/say about me. That I just didn’t care….but deep down, I did. I always have. I’ve yearned for someone to hug me and say “Bri, I love you for you, not because you are perfect, but because you are you.” As a child, I didn’t have that. I didn’t have the love and affection I’ve seen others have. All I received was that I just wasn’t good enough. I believed the lie that if I became the person they wanted me to be, then I would be loved. But no matter how hard I worked on the farm, something always went wrong. No matter how big I smiled and strutted, I was rarely chosen as the winner, always runner up. No matter how much I studied, I was always a few points short of the smartest. I am not one to give up…….all I wanted was to be good enough.

But what is good enough? Without the less intelligent, we can’t have the most intelligent. If it wasn’t for less, we couldn’t have more. No one is more than another, yet society makes us believe that we are. Society makes us believe that if you can’t speak 7 different languages and don’t have a PhD in some crazy field, then you are, essentially, nothing. I am no more than you my fellow person, and you are no more than me.

Maybe I am not good enough for my family. Maybe I am not good enough for anyone. But guess what, I am good enough for me. I am so far from perfect I can’t even see it in my rear-view mirror, but I don’t have to be perfect to be good enough. Too tall, too short, too fat, too thin. I am sick of listening to the lies others tell me I am. I am me. Not who you say I am. Deal with it, or stick it. I don’t have to deal with the lies any more. I may not be good enough for you, but there is someone who loves me unconditionally. Flaws and all. Someone who never once expected my perfection. Only my obedience. Someone who despite the fact I hung HIM on the cross to die, still forgave me of my sins. That someone’s name is JESUS CHRIST. HE will never tell me I am not good enough. HE will never say that I deserve nothing because I am nothing. HE will never hurt or belittle me for my short comings. HE loves me….for me. Not because I am perfect. And HE loves you for you. Please, feel free to comment you displeasure at me proclaiming my love for JESUS and HIS love for you. But HE does. And you don’t have to become good enough, you are good enough.

I know, that nearly every person that is reading this knows exactly what I am talking about. Someone out there has told you that you are not good enough for whatever reason. It may have even been me without realizing it. But here’s the thing. Guess what, you are good enough in the eyes of the LORD. HE loves you, even if you feel no one else does.

1454806_523785711050206_1178140986_n

Read number one…..Do you want that to be one of your regrets?

Leave a Reply

